Clyde Snow Award

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences Humanitarian and Human Rights Resource Center (AAFS HHRRC) will offer the Clyde Snow Award to a forensic scientist or organization that has made outstanding contributions to humanitarian action and the global advancement of human rights through the use of forensic science.  The award recognizes the pioneering contributions of forensic anthropologist Clyde Collins Snow (1928-2014) in the application of forensic science to human rights.  Dr. Snow helped catalyze the development of forensic science to support human rights throughout Latin America and around the world.  His career accomplishments present an extraordinary model for forensic scientists to reflect upon.

Recipients of the Clyde Snow Award will embody the spirit and far-reaching contributions made by Dr. Snow.  The Award is also intended to stimulate the career development and minds of young forensic scientists.  In addition, the Clyde Snow Award exemplifies the commitment of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences to the application of forensic science to help resolve important issues in the international and global domain.

Candidates for this award (individuals or organizations) may be nominated by a member of the Academy or others of the international forensic science community.  Selection criteria will focus on the sustained body of work in humanitarian forensic science.  The Clyde Snow Award is not for any specific contribution in the forensic sciences, but is intended to recognize a sustained effort in the global application of forensic science to human rights investigations and/or humanitarian action.   Nominations should be directed to the Chair of the HHRRC committee by May 31 of each year and be accompanied by a current copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae or the organization’s founding documents and/or any relevant supporting documentation.  The Award will be presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.

Please send nominations to HHRRC Chair, Dr. Dawnie Steadman, at, by May 31, 2020

Clyde Snow Awadees

2020 Duarte Nuno Vieira

2019 Jørgen Lange Thomsen

2018 Equipo Argentino de Antropología Forense (EAAF)

©2020 American Academy of Forensic Sciences