The 2021 awards will be presented during the 2022 AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting in Seattle, WA, during scheduled business meetings. Details will be provided ahead of the 2022 meeting. Please join us in acknowledging your most distinguished colleagues as they are presented with these prestigious awards.


R.B.H. Gradwohl Laureate Medallion

Carol Henderson, JD (posthumously)


Distinguished Fellow

Lakshmanan Sathyavagiswaran, MD


Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Award

Nicholas V. Passalacqua, PhD


2021 Section Award Honorees

Anthropology Section’s

T. Dale Stewart Award
Dennis C. Dirkmaat, PhD
J. Lawrence Angel Award Valerie Sgheiza, MA
Outstanding Mentorship Award Dennis C. Dirkmaat, PhD
Ellis R. Kerley Research Award Janna M. Andronowski, PhD
Ellis R. Kerley Research Award Mary E. Cole, PhD
Ellis R. Kerley Research Award Reed A. Davis, MSc

Criminalistics Section’s

Paul L. Kirk Award
Moses S. Schanfield, PhD
Mary E. Cowan Outstanding Service Award
Lucy A. Davis, BHS 
Meritorious Service Award
Peter J. Diaczuk, PhD 

Digital & Multimedia Sciences Section’s

Outstanding Research Award
Seth M. Eisenberg
Outstanding Research Award
Anthony Koertner, MS
Outstanding Research Award
Hillary Lathrop, PhD
Outstanding Research Award Christina A. Malone, MSFS

General Section’s

Paul W. Kehres Meritorious Service Award
William B. Andrews, MFS


Odontology Section’s

Reidar F. Sognnaes Award
Mary A. Bush, DDS


Pathology/Biology Section’s

Milton Helpern Award
Stephen D. Cohle, MD
Award for Achievement in the Forensic Life Sciences M. Eric Benbow, PhD
Best Resident Paper Award
Kristina-Ana Klaric, MD


Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section’s

Rosner Best Paper Award
Kathryn A. Cunningham, PsyD

Toxicology Section’s

Alexander O. Gettler Award Marilyn A. Huestis, PhD
Irving Sunshine Award Madeleine J. Swortwood, PhD
Ray Abernethy Award
Rebecca Phipps, PhD
Rolla N. Harger Award
Kenneth E. Ferslew, PhD
Annual Lectureship Award
Johannes G. Ramaekers, PhD

FSF Jan S. Bashinski Criminalistics Graduate Thesis Assistance Grant Recipient

Rachelle A. Turiello, MS

Humanitarian and Human Rights Resource Center’s Clyde Snow Award Recipient

Douglas H. Ubelaker, PhD

FSF Emerging Forensic Scientist Award Recipients

Kamar Afra, MA
J. Tyler Davidson, PhD
David S.H. Funes, BS


FSF Warren-Young Scholarship Recipient

Ronald J. Moss, MSEd, MS


AAFS Regional Awards

Midwest Association for Toxicology & Therapeutic Drug Monitoring: Kimberly Yacoub, MS

Midwestern Association of Forensic Scientists:  Dana L. Greeley, MSFS

Southwestern Association of Toxicologists: Sarah E. Martin, MS


Back to Meeting Information

©2020 American Academy of Forensic Sciences